Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

With the holidays coming up, I always find myself wanting to bake more. This past weekend I made the recipe I am about to share with you, and my family absolutely loved it! I hope you do, too!

Chocolate Cake

  • I followed Hershey’s recipe for their chocolate cake, but I baked mine in 2 9-inch round pans

Peanut Butter Frosting

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance
  • 2 cups powdered sugar
  • 3-4 Tbsp. almond milk
  1. Beat everything until evenly combined. 

*After letting the cakes cool, I frosted the bottom layer, put the other cake on top, and frosted the rest of it.

Below is the finished product:

Image

 

Yum!! This would be a perfect dessert to bring to any holiday gathering. The icing is vegan, and the cake could be made vegan by using flax eggs (1 Tbsp ground flax + 3 Tbsp. water = 1 egg) in place of regular eggs, and replacing the cow’s milk with almond, soy, or rice milk. I have not tried it with gluten free flour, but that might be my next project 🙂

Do you have a favorite holiday dessert?

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cake with Peanut Butter Frosting

Leave a Reply

