The Hunger Games & a Recipe

Hello everyone!

I hope everyone had/is having a great Spring Break!!

Over my Spring Break, I was able to read The Hunger Games and it was just amazing!  It was so very different than any other books I have read but I really enjoyed it.  I love how strong Katniss is and the cute relationship she and Peeta develop.  I won’t give away anything else but let me just say, the ending was insane!! I have the other two books in the series, Catching Fire Mockingjay, but will probably wait until this semester is over to read those.  Have you read The Hunger Games yet?

Source

The other day I stumbled upon a great recipe from Carrots ‘N Cake – Pumpkin Spice Breakfast Couscous.  This recipe inspired me to use what I had on hand, so I made it with quinoa instead of the couscous and applesauce instead of the pumpkin because I didn’t have any on hand.  I linked to her original recipe, but I will post my adaptations below.

*Apple & Cinnamon Quinoa Breakfast Bowl*

Inspired by Carrots ‘N Cake‘s Pumpkin Spice Breakfast Couscous

  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened appleasuce
  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tbsp. ground chia seed
  1. Combine everything in a pot and turn to medium heat.
  2. Stir frequently until it thickens.
  3. Remove from heat, top with whatever you fancy, and enjoy!

 This tasted SO GOOD and I love it as a change-up from oatmeal.  I might try an overnight version..we shall see 🙂

Favorite book as of late?

Do you like quinoa?

 

3 thoughts on “The Hunger Games & a Recipe

  1. Love the hunger games! I wasn’t really a fan of the second or third books, but the first one is AWESOME 😀
    Hope the rest of your week is rockin girl!

Leave a Reply

