My Overnight Oats Recipe

I watched The Help this weekend after finishing the book.  It was AMAZING.  Everybody in the movie were amazing actors and, for the most part, it followed the book really well.  I highly recommend the movie as well as the book!  (My “Books” page is in the process of being added to my blog.  When I get it up, The Help will be featured!)

**********************************************************************************************************************

Ok, now onto the food! 😛

Yesterday, Julie from Peanut Butter Fingers did a post on her overnight oats recipe.  The pictures of her overnight oats always look so delicious and thick!  I commented and asked if the chia seeds could be replaced with flax seeds and when Julie stressed the importance of chia seeds to create the deliciously thick and chewy texture, I knew I needed to go buy some….and that I did!

There are so many different overnight oats recipes out there, but I really loved this creation that I whipped up last night.

*Overnight Oats*

  • 3/4 cup vanilla Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/4 cup soy milk
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 Tbsp. chia seeds
  • cinnamon, to taste
  • toppings – nut butter, fresh fruit, dried fruit, cereal, etc.
  1. Combine all ingredients, except toppings, in a bowl and mix.
  2. Cover and place in fridge overnight.
  3. When ready, uncover, adorn with toppings, and enjoy!

I was so excited to eat this that I completely forgot to take a picture, but below is a picture from Julie’s blog that looks pretty similar to how mine came out.

Overnight Oats (pic from pbfingers.com)

I can’t wait to experiment with different flavor combinations!  I am sure you will  be seeing overnight oats again soon!

Have you read or watched The Help?

Have you tried overnight oats?  If so, what is your favorite way to prepare them?

4 thoughts on “My Overnight Oats Recipe

  1. Overnight oats are the best! I love them too, chias are magical little seeds, aren’t they? 🙂 I usually make mine like your recipe, except I’ll mix in protein powder for an extra flavor boost and blast of nutrients 😉
    And yay for The Help!! I think the movie rocked, I’m so glad they kept it close to the book!

Leave a Reply

